Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I met up in Washington, D.C. with a group of eight Conception Seminary College seminarians who traveled the distance for the March for Life. I flew and they opted for the road trip experience. When I arrived Thursday morning, I headed to St. Anselm’s Abbey where we would be staying the evening. The English Benedictine monks were gracious enough to offer us hospitality for two nights.

Below: Pictures of St. Anselm’s Abbey and church.

I met up with our seminarians just before the Vigil Mass at the Basilica Shrine. This is one of my favorite churches and there were crowds of pilgrims there for the Mass Thursday evening, which Cardinal Dolan celebrated.

I was able to catch up with my confrere, Br. Etienne, who had traveled with a group from his theology school, St. Vincent Seminary in Latrobe, Pennsylvania.

The group of seminarians soon after we met up before the Vigil Mass. They had a couple long days of driving!

After spending the night at St. Anselm’s Abbey, we headed out early to get to the DC Armory for the Youth Rally and Mass. We navigated our way on the DC Metro.

We walked on foot from L’Enfant plaza on a nice January day, stopping to take a few pictures on the way.

Below: This was as close as we could get to the stage for the rally before the March. Fortunately we could hear the speakers well, including Vice-President Mike Pence address the crowd.

Shortly after taking the picture above, EWTN saw our signs and invited us for an interview. We were happy for the opportunity (see the portion of our interview below).

img_0900

Above: One blessing of so many people gathered in one place from all over the world is that you occasionally run across friends and people you know. Here I am pictured with a group of young people from Sts. John and Paul parish in Wexford, Pennsylvania. This the parish where I served during my final year of theology when I was a deacon. These people and this parish are very special to me.

Later in the evening after the March for Life, I met up with a vocation candidate and my confrere, Fr. Victor (who is studying in Washington, D.C.). We had a nice time going out for supper and then we went to see some of the monuments and memorials along the National Mall.img_0895img_0898

