Tags

, , , , , , ,

On Tuesday I was in Yankton, South Dakota, just over the Nebraska border. It was my first time in South Dakota. The purpose of my trip was to visit a monastery vocation candidate who is college senior at Mount Marty College. It was a beautiful and sunny day as I got the extended tour of campus. The Benedictine Sisters of Yankton, Sacred Heart monastery, are situated on the campus, so I was able to stay in their guesthouse.

There is a beautiful view of the river, which I was eager to see.

Below: Bishop Martin Marty’s house. Bishop Marty was a Benedictine bishop and missionary in America. He was the first Abbot of St. Meinrad Monastery in Indiana, the first Vicar Apostolic of Dakota Territory, and the second Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Saint Cloud.

